Chatter-Box

blahblahblah2

“Mommy, look at me! I’m flipping!

“Nathaniel be care…”

“Mommy that was fun! Mommy did you see me?! I’ll do it again…mommy, mommmyyyy, remember when I flipped on the sofa!? That was soooo funny! Mommy, mommyyy look at me!”

“Nathaniel PLEASE! Give me a minute to process what you’re saying. Stop speaking for a minute, pleeeease!”

Does this sound familiar to anyone?? My son has become such a chatter-box! I honestly feel dizzy when he speaks to me, because he doesn’t give me time to process what he is saying. Many times I feel bad in having to ask him to stop talking for a little while, but I just need some time to think! He can ask me numerous questions in a matter of a minute, before I’ve been able to answer his first question. I know it’s a part of growing up. He knows the English language now, and he loves using words and also, he loves hearing himself speak. Those are HIS words, not mine! haha. I love that he has things to say. I love that we can sit there and chat with each other about different things. We speak about the things we’ve done throughout the day, or on the weekend. Things he’s learned in the library. He speaks excitedly about the fun he had at his aunts house, with his cousins. It’s all great chit chat. But it’s exhausting when I’m actually trying to do something around the house, or when I’m driving and I need to concentrate on the road.

His non stop talking really gets to me at that point. I need to figure out a way to have him quiet down when needed, while not hurting his spirit at all. I don’t want him to think he can’t speak AT ALL anymore, or that it bothers me to have a conversation with him, because it really doesn’t bother me. I love it! What are some things that you guys do when you need some peace of mind. What are some things I can do or say to make him realize he needs to hush for a moment, and not just all together stop talking. I love his outgoing, fun, loving personality with all of my heart! I just need him to learn he cannot throw a 101 questions at me at once!

10-28-14 24110-28-14 216

Have a great day & chatter on…or not šŸ˜‰

Jen

2 thoughts on “Chatter-Box

  1. Nonstopbakbak says:

    Such a beautiful post and I can totally relate to it!! Stuti is such a chatterbox herself. While it’s so amazing that they talk so much, I need time to process what she’s saying too.

    I often find myself saying ” we talk slowly so that everyone understands us” or “shush quiet time” HAHAHAHA. It’s great, mostly.

    We all deal with it in our way and it will be fine. Xx

Leave a Reply

